It’s Always October in Salem

Happy Fall Equinox to all!! We have now officially crossed the threshold from summer to autumn.

I couldn’t be more thrilled to leave the hottest, most miserable months behind, even if only figuratively (it was still 103 degrees outside in Texas today). But before I do, I want to reflect on a moment back in late May when I took an unseasonal trip to my favorite Halloween town, Salem, Massachusetts.

I have visited Salem over a dozen times, all of them previously in October. During the month leading up to Halloween, the city fully embraces its witchy history, coming alive with Halloween-themed events, costumed randos wandering the streets, pumpkins on doorsteps, decorations in windows, and spooky events. But 2023 marks the first year I’ve stopped by in the off-season.

Chambers of Terror!

I was surprised and delighted to discover that Salem still retains its colonial-creepy vibes even in late May. All of the witch shops are open, the souvenir stores are still stocked with black-and-orange goods, and you can order a Caramel Appletini cocktail at Witch’s Brew Cafe. The Witch Museum still offers its viewings, Tarot readings abound, small local haunted attractions are in operation, and walking tour groups gather on the sidewalks at dusk.

Gazebo in the Salem Common.

The most notable difference is the lack of crowds. In May, you don’t have to wait in line to shop at the charming little stores that will accrue a line of tourists outside the door in October. You can easily get reservations at restaurants. Hotels charge normal prices rather than a ridiculously inflated October rate. You can walk a straight line through the Pedestrian Mall, which in fall is flooded with a churning sea of people.

So I am happy to report that I would highly recommend visiting Salem outside of its peak month, especially if you want a calmer, less-thronged experience.

Here’s a short video I made during my visit so that you can see a late-springtime Salem through my eyes.

Published by

K.O.

Lifelong Halloween lover.

5 thoughts on “It’s Always October in Salem”

  1. OOOOooo! Nice video presentation . . . wonders if those were the original tarot drawings by Pamela Colman Smith, the ones hanging in the shop? Someday I would love to visit Salem . . . and after watching this, would definitely do so in the off season! SO glad you got to go this year KO, and Happiest of Fall Equinox’s to you my friend.

    1. Thanks, Rot! Happy you liked it. My “shaky-cam” style of camerawork wasn’t ideal, but at least it offers a glimpse into the magical city!

Leave a comment